Hollywood Records has announced a September 11th release date for GREY’S ANATOMY SOUNDTRACK VOLUME 3, the latest companion album to the mega-popular, Golden Globe-winning ABC television drama centered around the personal and professional lives of a group of surgical interns.

Like the series that inspired it, GREY’S ANATOMY SOUNDTRACK VOLUME 3 ebbs and flows with songs that are sweet, quirky and heart-stirring. At its centerpiece is new and exclusive music from acclaimed singer-songwriter Mat Kearney, Grammy winner John Legend and the inimitable Gomez. Kearney’s track, the beautiful “Breathe In Breathe Out,” will be the album’s first single. The video for the song will feature footage from the show and be available as a free download on iTunes beginning September 20th.  The new season of Grey’s Anatomy will premiere September 27th 9/8c on ABC.

The album’s tracks, many of which can be heard during key emotional scenes over the course of the series, were chosen by the show’s creator and executive producer, Shonda Rhimes and executive producer Betsy Beers from a large pool of artists introduced to them by music supervisor Alex Patsavas. Among the record’s many highlights is Legend’s spare and compelling “Sun Comes Up,” Gomez’s moving “Moon And Sun,” along with poignant compositions from Grace Potter & The Nocturnals (“Falling Or Flying”), Paolo Nutini (“Million Faces”) and Brandi Carlile (“The Story”), to name but a few.